You Handle the Switch, Man

images (6)I was teaching a workshop years ago after my divorce and I showed a picture to the public.

It was a professional picture of myself that was taken in a photo shop while I was young and still married. I wore my best dress, I was supposed to look the best I could.

After many years, when I found that photo and saw my eyes, I was shocked.

I LOOKED LIKE SOMEBODY SWITCHED OFF THE LIGHT INSIDE ME.

We didn’t have the technology to show that picture large, on a screen, so the audience passed it around. The room got quiet. It took a while until the people could talk and somebody asked me out loud:

“What did he do to you?”

1. FEAR OF HIM

That switches off the light and brings trembling. Sadly, this didn’t happen only in the eighteen century.

2. UNTRUE ACCUSATIONS

They burden and crook the soul.

3. ABUSE OF ALL KINDS

They take away any hope and open the door to suicide.

Now, when I see women with that kind of look, my heart aches. We are able to carry heavy stuff and handle it well when the light inside us is on. But darkness kills.

Despair, fear, abuse, they shrink life.

It took many years for me to recover and have the light shining inside me again.

Handling the switch is a great responsibility.

Leave a Reply

