A Tale in a Store

applesSuch a beautiful morning to drive to my favorite store. Got out of the vehicle and held my pants with one hand while pushed the door with the free one. So what if the guy parked next to me spilled his coffee while watching? Is it forbidden to wear your jeans even though they were made for the Barbie-dolls-kind-of-princesses?

Lifted my head high with confidence and walked to the sidewalk carrying my bags. I am one of the 48% of the Californians who voted to keep the plastic bags in place. But who cared? Since my own flesh and blood voted for a clean environment.
Never mind.

Stepped in the store and remembered my Black Friday shopping approach. As some of you already read about it, that went well.
I’m looking for persimmons. And just in case they don’t have them, I’m ready to lower my standards and get a few apples.
Then this guy catches my eye. Tall, in his eighties, wearing an old model preacher-kind-of suit, no tie, but clean and melancholic, we cross our paths for a few times. He reminds me of my grandfather in his church clothes. Grandma even buried him in them.

I can’t find persimmons. Get apples and stand in the line at the only open register. The man who is checking out is the spiffy one.
An elderly woman in her late seventies is between us. We both wear the same kind of jeans.
The man and the cashier talk about the cold weather and soon after he is on his way out.
“Such a gentleman in a suit.” the lady can’t help herself and continues, “This is so rare these days.”
The cashier picks up the idea.
“Oh, yes, he looks so well put together.”
The shopper is still in awe. “I like a man who knows how to wear a good outfit. I bet he opens the door for a woman.”
She finally leaves.

When I get out, I can see her walking through the parking lot and searching the perimeter with her eyes. Maybe he is still there.
This is what a grocery store can do to a woman.

Leave a Reply

