I Asked for an Angel

angel-tree-800pxThere were two weeks now since we started to remodel the house here where we live. You can imagine the mountain of old carpet and floor linoleum that had piled up in the garage for the day when the special garbage truck was scheduled to pick it up. Many other useless items joined the party, pieces of furniture, sinks, toilets and old tiles.

I called the company again to add those things on their list and they planned our big day before Christmas. Meanwhile we barely could open the garage door from so much stuff.

The evening before the pick up day we put all the junk by the curb and at the end of our driveway. Next day at 7 o’clock in the morning I was waiting for the truck on the porch. The big vehicle stopped in the front of the house, blocking our narrow street. I went to talk to the driver and saw him scratching his head.

“Sorry, Ma’am, but I can’t take what you have here.”

My whole world shook.

“Why?”

“Because you have too much stuff. I have a list here with the items I’m supposed to pick up. A couch , a love-seat, carpet,” and he continued with the list I had given to his dispatcher.

I stretched my arm and showed him the pile. “Everything is here.”

He wasn’t convinced and kept staring at the hill.” I can’t do this by myself.”

“I will help you.”

He shook his head. “I have to call my office.”

While he was talking, I was praying. “Lord, make a miracle and have this company take all of this. And Lord, send an angel to help us.”

It was early in the morning and nobody I knew was passing by and willing to start their day with loading a truck with our garbage.

Keeping my eyes on the sky and continuing to pray, I saw the sun making its way through the clouds on top of our next-door neighbor’s  house. The driver was still on the phone, but I couldn’t hear what he was saying. “Lord, help us with this and send us an angel.”

The driver opened the door and jumped down without a word. He grabbed one trash bag and threw it in the loading attachment. I did the same.

There was a noise on the road down the street from the opposite direction and I saw our regular garbage truck coming. The nice guy I knew stopped the car and came out. I couldn’t believe it. We always had a little chat when he stopped by the house to unload our trash bins every week. I remembered I gave him some of my children’s books last Christmas. When I baked breads, I made sure he got a loaf.

He greeted us with a smile. “Good morning!”

“Good morning! Are you here to help us?” I asked when I saw him picking up one of our trash bags.

“Yes.”

I couldn’t believe it, even though I asked God for help.

“I had prayed for an angel to come and help us, and here you are.” I said. “You are that angel.”

He laughed and continued loading the machine.

It took a while for all the junk to fit in the back of the truck, but I was praising God in my heart. Before leaving, I took out the two homemade French breads I had in the freezer and gave them to the men.

“You two were incredible. Thank you!”

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

